2020 Joseph Wharton Awards
The Wharton Club of New York's 2020 Joseph Wharton Awards season is underway. The Joseph Wharton Awards are presented annually by the Wharton Club of New York to exceptional Wharton alumni who have made resounding and lasting contributions to the business world and to their communities. The Joseph Wharton Awards include:

2020 Joseph Wharton Award for Lifetime Achievement
For the Wharton alumnus who has had tremendous positive and sustained impact on business and society over the course of their careers.
David S. Pottruck, C'70, WG'72
Chairman & CEO, Red Eagle Ventures, Inc.
Former President & CEO, Charles Schwab

2020 Joseph Wharton Award for Leadership
For the Wharton alumnus who embodies the highest standards of leadership in both business and society.

Dawn Fitzpatrick, W'92
Chief Investment Officer
Soros Fund Management

2020 Joseph Wharton Award for Young Leadership
For the Wharton alumnus who, early in his/her career, has demonstrated the greatest potential for leadership and lasting impact.

Jeff Raider, WG'10
Co-Founder and Co-CEO
Harry’s, Inc.

2020 Joseph Wharton Award for Social Impact
For the alumnus who has had the greatest impact in public service, social enterprise or philanthropy.

Keiko Honda, WG'89
Adjunct Professor, Columbia University School of International and Public Affairs
Former CEO of MIGA, World Bank Group

Please join us in honoring our awardees at the Wharton Club of New York's 2020 Joseph Wharton Awards event which will be held virtually on Wednesday, October 21st.  Don’t miss this exclusive opportunity to expand your business network and gain actionable insights!  The evening's program will include valuable pre-event NETWORKING opportunities, an interactive SIMULATION on negotiations, exciting career insights during the AWARDS CEREMONY, and access to PANEL DISCUSSIONS with current and prior award recipients who will share their unique industry expertise. The event, hosted by CNBC anchor Bill Griffeth, will be delivered via a dynamic platform that provides enhanced participant profiles to facilitate networking and access to interactive content on our presenters, facilitators and sponsors that can be viewed before and concurrent with the event. Participants will be able to select any or all of the evening's offerings in which to participate.

Wednesday, October 21st
5:30PM – 6:30PM (ET) Networking: Group Sessions facilitated by Wharton Research Center Faculty and Staff, and 1:1 networking opportunities will be offered providing a unique and targeted opportunity to expand your business network and identify business development or employment prospects. The topics of the Networking Sessions and their facilitators are:
Leadership in Challenging Times
Michael Useem
Faculty Director
Center for Leadership and Change Mgmt

Trang Pham
Executive Director
Venture Lab

David Musto
Faculty Director
Stevens Center for Innovation in Finance
Winning Customers in Era of Retail Disruption
Barbara Kahn
Jay H. Baker Retailing Center

AI in Business & Customer Analytics
Mary Purk
Executive Director
AI For Business & Customer Analytics

Innovation Management
Nicolaj Siggelkow
Mack Institute for Innovation Mgmt

Simulation: A 60-minute interactive simulation exercise on negotiations will be led by Wharton Interactive staff Maurice Schweitzer and Sarah Toms.
6:30PM – 7:15PM (ET) Awards Ceremony: Last year's winners will present the awards to this year's recipients. Hear their exceptional stories and their insights on achieving success. Presenters will include:
Pete Nicholas, WG'68
Co-Founder & Chairman Emeritus
Boston Scientific Corporation

William P. Lauder, W'83
Executive Chairman & Chairman of the Board
The Estée Lauder Companies

Anjali Sud, W'05
Vimeo, Inc.

Edward C. Halperin, M.D., W'75
Chancellor & CEO
New York Medical College
7:15PM – 8:00PM (ET) Executive Panel Discussions: Tap into the insights and unique experiences of these exceptional business leaders. The panels, moderated by leading Wharton Faculty, will feature discussions and Q&A with our current and past Joseph Wharton Award Winners. The Panels will include:

Proceeds from ticket sales and sponsorships, net of event expenses, will go toward funding the philanthropic and programing initiatives of WCNY including the Equality Task Force to reduce hiring and promotion biases and foster diversity and inclusion in business, and to the WCNY COVID-19 Work Relief Program which provides paid projects to alumni adversely affected by the pandemic, and which has already been seeded with a $200,000 commitment from WCNY.

Early registration pricing of $25 is available until October 15th, after which tickets will increase to $50 - so purchase your tickets now for this important event! You will also be given the opportunity to add a donation to the COVID-19 Work Relief Fund.  Registration will close at the end of day on Monday, October 19th.

Register for the 2020 Joseph Wharton Awards. 

If you would like to directly make a donation to the WCNY COVID-19 Work Relief Program, click HERE.

Learn More About the Joseph Wharton Awards and Previous Recipients.



nav divider


nav divider
Purchase Tickets

nav divider


nav divider
Previous Recipients

nav divider

Dinner Leadership

nav divider

2006 Joseph Wharton Dinner

nav divider

2007 Joseph Wharton Dinner

nav divider

2008 Joseph Wharton Dinner

nav divider

2009 Joseph Wharton Dinner


2010 JWD button

nav divider

2011 Award Recipients

nav divider

 2012 Award Recipients

nav divider

nav divider

2014 Recipients

nav divider

 Sponsorship Information

nav divider

2016 Award Recipients

nav divider

2017 Award Recipients

nav divider

2018 Dinner

nav divider

2019 Dinner